OFFICERS 2014-2016

NEAL KELLEY PRESIDENT Orange County

DEAN LOGAN VICE PRESIDENT Los Angeles County

SUSAN M.RANOCHAK TREASURER Mendocino County

JOE HOLLAND SECRETARY Santa Barbara County

BOARD OF DIRECTORS APPOINTED:

GINA ALCOMENDRAS Santa Clara County

KAMMI FOOTE Inyo County

SACHI HAMAI Los Angeles County

DONNA M. JOHNSTON Sutter County

JILL LAVINE Sacramento County

MARK LUNN Ventura County

KAREN RHEA Kern County

MICHAEL VU San Diego County

DAWN ABRAHAMSON* Fremont City Clerk * non-voting member

ADVISORY COUNCIL:

REBECCA MARTINEZ Madera County GAIL L. PELLERIN

Santa Cruz County

CATHY DARLING ALLEN Shasta County

ELECTED AREA CHAIRS:

JULIE BUSTAMANTE Northern Area Lassen County

REBECCA SPENCER Southern Area Riverside County

DONNA JOHNSTON Mother Lode Area Sutter County

AUSTIN G. ERDMAN Central Area San Joaquin County

CLAUDIO VALENZUELA Bay Area Monterey County

LEGISLATIVE COMMITTEES CLERK OF THE BOARD:

SACHI A. HAMAI Los Angeles County

JOHN MCKIBBEN Los Angeles County

COUNTY CLERK:

KAMMI FOOTE

JOE HOLLAND Santa Barbara County

ELECTIONS:

JILL LAVINE Sacramento County

KAREN RHEA Kern County



CALIFORNIA ASSOCIATION OF CLERKS AND ELECTION OFFICIALS

NEAL KELLEY, PRESIDENT

Orange County Registrar of Voters 1300-C South Grand Ave., Santa Ana, CA 92705 P.O. Box 11298, Santa Ana, CA 92711-1298 714-567-7600 * Fax 714-567-7627

> E-Mail: neal.kelley@rov.ocgov.com CACEO website: www.caceo58.org

August 12, 2015

The Honorable Sebastian Ridley-Thomas Chairman, Assembly Committee on Elections and Redistricting State Capitol, Room 2176 Sacramento, CA 95814

SB 49 (Runner) –SUPPORT

Dear Assembly Member Ridley-Thomas:

The California Association of Clerks and Elections Officials wishes to advise you that it supports SB 49 which eliminates the need for a special primary or general election when only one candidate qualifies to appear on the ballot. The bill permits the Governor to declare the candidate elected without incurring the cost of unnecessary elections by a county or counties.

We appreciate the consideration of the costs of special vacancy elections in this single candidate scenario and hope that in the future counties may obtain additional relief of the cost of these elections in other situations.

Should you have questions regarding our position, please contact me at the Contra Costa County Election Division at scott.konopasek@vote.cccounty.us or (925) 335-7808.

Respectfully,

Scott O. Konopasek

Corresponding Secretary

Monoface

California Association of Clerks and Election Officials

Cc: Senator Ben Allen, Chair, Senate Elections and Constitutional Amendments Committee Senator Runner, Author

Ethan Jones, Chief Consultant, Assembly Committee on Elections and Redistricting

Daryl Thomas, Republican Caucus Consultant

Barry Brokaw, Sacramento Advocates, Inc.

Jill LaVine, Co-Chair, CACEO Election Legislative Committee Karen Rhea, Co-Chair, CACEO Election Legislative Committee